What Are Chakras ?



The subject of chakras is not going to be easy one.many scientists and philosophers are confronted with a great difficulty when it comes to accepting and explaining the existence of the chakras.They do not know whether the chakras are to be found in physical body or in the subtle body. If they exist in the physical body, where are they ? And of course the subtle body is not the matter of modern anatomical science.
Well , chakras very much exists in our body like any physical organ exists. Though we cannot see them , we can experience them with a little bit of practice and awareness.
They are meeting points of energy channels (nadis) in our body, through which prana or the divine life energy flows. The base structure of chakra is always a triangle. There are 112 chakras in our body out of which 7 chakras are the main ones.
These 7 chakras are located along with our spinal chord in your subtle body. In a healthy, balanced person, the 7 chakras provide exactly the right amount of energy to every part of your body, mind and spirit.
However, if one of your chakras is too open and spinning quickly, or if it is too closed and moving slowly, your health will suffer.By learning about the 7 chakras, you can become more in tune with the natural energy cycles of your body.

1. Root Chakra or Muladhara

The sanskrit word Mula means ‘root or foundation’ and that is precisely what this chakra is. Muladhara is at the root of the chakra system and its influences are at the root of our whole existence.

. Location: Base of the spine in tailbone area.

. Emotional issues: Survival issues such as financial independence, money and food.

2. Sacral Chakra or Swadhisthana

The sanskrit word swa means ‘one’s own’ and adhisthana means ‘dwelling palace or residence’. Therefore swadhisthana means “one’s own abode”.This chakra is associated with our ability to accept others.

. Location: Lower abdomen, about two inches below the navel and two inches in.

. Emotional issues: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure and sexuality.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura

Manipura is derived from two sanskrit words: mani meaning ‘jewel’ and pura meaning ‘city’. Therefore manipura means “city of jewels”. This chakra is related with our ability to be confident and in control of our lives.

. Location: Upper abdomen in the stomach area.

. Emotional issues: Self-worth, self-confidence and self-esteem.

4. Heart Chakra or Anahata

The word anahata actually means ‘unstruck or unbeaten’. As the name suggests this chakra is related with our ability to love.

. Location: Center of chest just above the heart.

. Emotional issues: Love, joy and inner peace.

5. Throat Chakra or Vishuddhi

vishuddhi chakra is known as the ‘purification center’. The sanskrit word suddhi means (to purify), and in this chakra the purifying and harmonizing of all opposites takes places. This chakra is related with our ability to communicate.

. Location: Throat.

. Emotional issues: Communication, self-expression of feelings and the truth.

6. Third Eye Chakra or Ajna Chakra

The most common Sanskrit name for the Third eye chakra is “Ajna”, which means “command” and “perceiving”.
This chakra is related to the “supreme element”, which is the combination of all the elements in their pure form.

. Location: Forehead between the eyes.

. Emotional issues: Intuition, Perception, wisdom and the ability to think and make decisions.

7. Crown chakra or Sahasrara

Sahasrara chakra is also called as ‘The Thousand-Petalled Lotus ‘.This chakra represents our ability to connect with godhood.

. Location: The very top of the head.

. Emotional issues: Inner beauty and vibrancy, our connection to spirituality and pure bliss.

This is just a small introduction of chakras, In reality it is much more deeper topic. Keep following to know more.

  Namaste. feather-2781343_1280


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s